Wednesday, March 16, 2011, 4:00-6:00 PM Leutze Hall, Room 110, UNC Wilmington Wilmington, North Carolina

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

In attendance: Carmen Rivera, Blake Pattridge, Greg Crider, Greg Weeks, Angela Rajagopalan, Tim Hawkins

1.) **Reports**

a. Financial report – Angela Rajagopalan, Secretary/Treasurer

- Angela Rajagopalan reported that the organization is financially healthy with \$53,166.78 total in the treasury. Our Oppenheimer investment account is very conservative, so Meewe had no losses and a modest gain of \$2.80, ending at \$27,018.84. We hold \$2,397.58 in our savings account (\$654.65 is SECOLAS money and \$1,742.93 is money that was deposited by Greg Crider's university to cover his travel expenses to the conferences). The savings account saw a gain of \$9.52 and the checking account balance is \$10.00 higher than this time last year. Our expenditures included \$5,376.00 paid to Wiley-Blackwell for member journal subscriptions (a lower number than last year that reflects the growing profitability of the journal), \$800.00 in award prize money, and a nominal amount for materials to produce the award certificates.
- On the secretarial side, Angela reported that prior to the conference, we had 110 current 2011 members, 39 members are paid up through 2012, and 18 members are paid up through 2013. The two-year out numbers are slightly higher than last year. The current membership total is slightly lower than last year (110 members in 2011 vs. 146 in 2010), but that may be partially due to the fact that this conference is almost a month earlier.

b. Report on The Latin Americanist - Greg Weeks, Editor

• Greg Weeks reported that <u>The Latin Americanist</u> journal is doing well and growing in subscriptions. There is an upward trajectory that we hope to keep. He encouraged members to make sure that your own institution subscribes to the journal if they don't already. He stated that the exposure that we're getting from the journal is very good. Blackwell does a lot of advertising, free virtual issues that combine articles from different journals, etc. He reported that the number and quality of submissions is continuing to grow and encouraged SECOLAS members to promote submission to the journal. The official report from Blackwell will come in April/May. The special issue this year is on the theme of "Immigration."

c. Report on the <u>Annals</u> edition of *TLA* – Greg Crider, Editor)

• Greg Crider reported that each year there are more submissions to the Annals. The <u>Annals</u> is a peer-reviewed edition and it's indexed like the other volumes of *TLA*. Greg reported that there were 25 papers submitted last year and the acceptance rate was 20%.

3.) Announcements

• No announcements

4.) Old business - Discussion of future conference sites:

- Gainesville, FL 2012 (Richmond Brown)
- Although Richmond Brown could not be present for the Executive Committee meeting, he sent a preliminary schedule that outlined the conference which will take place at the University of Florida campus in Gainesville, FL on March 28-31, 2012.

b. Latin America in 2013

• The Executive Committee discussed several options and narrowed down the best possibilities to Panama City, Panama and Antigua, Guatemala, based on possible connections to those locations and taking into account places where meetings have been held in the past.

c. Western States Region in 2014

• The Executive Committee discussed several possibilities and decided to bring this up at the General Business Meeting. There was particular interest in Alabama, especially Mobile or Birmingham.

d. Eastern States Region in 2015

• Miami and Charleston were discussed as possibilities. Charleston raised the issue of the boycott, a scheduled topic on the General Business Meeting agenda. The resolution against Charleston is still on the books and is published in the 2000 edition of The Latin Americanist. The Executive Committee discussed the matter and determined that it would make sense to table the topic until Charleston is under serious consideration.

5.) New Business

a. Discussion of implementing online forms of payment

• Gregory Crider suggested and the Executive Committee reached consensus that: 1) SECOLAS will work to implement an online manner of payment for membership and conference fees with the goal of implementing this before the 2012 conference; and 2) Once that's established SECOLAS will oversee collection of membership dues and conference fees collected before the start of the conference.

b. Issues related to conference fee payment

• Carmen Rivera moved that if your paper is going to be read at the conference, you have to register for the conference and that you cannot be considered for the Annals if you haven't paid and presented. Greg Weeks seconded. It was determined that the Call for Papers should reflect this.

c. Program Chairs for next year

• It was determined that the new President, Greg Weeks, will be responsible for identifying the Program Chairs for next year's conference.

6.) Elections

a. President elect

• Carmen Rivera nominated Tim Hawkins. Blake Pattridge seconded. The Executive Committee unanimously agreed to put forward this nomination at the General Business Meeting.

b. At large members to replace Elizabeth Moran and Timothy Hawkins

- Carmen Rivera proposed Sarah Wamester Bares, Millsaps (Humanities/Literature) as a replacement for Timothy Hawkins.
- Blake Pattridge was discussed as a replacement for Elizabeth Moran.

c. Award Committees.

- Awards committees rotations and replacements (3 year staggered appointments)
 - Alfred B. Thomas Book Award (3 year staggered appointments)
- The current committee is: Scott Beck (East Tennessee State University) (Chair, 2011), Magdalena Maíz-Peña (Davidson College) (2012), Stephen Morris (MTSU) (2013). Scott Beck is rotating off. The committee discussed possible members including James Wood and Tim Henderson.

Sturgis Leavitt Award

• The current committee is: Thomas Rogers (UNC at Charlotte) (Chair, 2011), Michael J. Pisani (2012), Timothy Hawkins (Indiana State University) (2013) Tom Rogers is rotating off. This year's winner will be appointed to the committee. [Retroactive note: Natalia Milanesio was awarded the Sturgis Leavitt Award and will replace Tom Rogers for a 3-year term.]

Edward Moseley Student Paper Award

• The current committee is: Paula Heusinkveld (Clemson) (Chair, 2011), Halbert Jones (US Dept of State) (2012), Elizabeth Moran (Christopher Newport University) (2013). The new members of the Moseley Award Committee had not been determined and are to be announced. A replacement is being sought for Paula Heusinkveld who is rotating off and Elizabeth Moran who had agreed to fill in for one year when Geoffroy de Laforcade resigned. The Executive Committee discussed possible replacements including Chad Black and asking Liz Moran to stay on.

7. Meeting Adjourned

• Blake Pattridge moved to adjourn. Greg Weeks seconded.