THURSDAY, March 7, 2013, 5:15-7:15 PM Salón Diplomático, Hotel Continental Panama City, Panama

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

In Attendance: Timothy Hawkins, Frank Robinson, Ashleigh Blue, Ann Gonzalez, Sarah Wamester Bares, Gregory Weeks, Jurgen Buchenau, Gregory Crider, Stephen Morris, Richmond Brown.

Welcome and thank you to Frank Robinson and Tim Hawkins for serving as conference organizers!

- Reports
 - Financial Report Angela Rajagopalan, Secretary-Treasurer (report presented by Ashleigh Blue)
- First and foremost, thank you to my assistant, Ashleigh Blue, who has done a tremendous job this year!
- Angela Rajagopalan reports that the organization is financially healthy, with \$53,508.56 in the treasury as of March 5, 2013.
- Our Oppenheimer account is very conservative, so we had no losses and a modest gain of \$3.76, ending at \$27,025.93.
- In our Savings account, we currently hold \$1,215.16 (mainly the remaining money from Wingate University that was set aside for Greg Crider's travel). This money is not counted in the total SECOLAS funds amounts. This year I record two withdraws from the Savings account. One to reimburse checking for a reimbursement to G. Crider for SECOLAS related travel and one to move the SECOLAS money out of that account to keep the accounting simpler. Currently, the account now contains only G. Crider's funds and any interest gains.
- The current total in our Checking account is \$25,822.28. Most of the anticipated Panama conference expenses have been paid, so this total is a fairly accurate reflection of our assets. Aside from conference related transactions, the categories of deposits and expenditures were fairly typical. A notable exception was the bequest of \$5,000 that we received in 2013 from the estate of the late William Lane Harris. I thanked his daughter on behalf of the organization for this generous gift. His daughter Barbara June asked that we remember her father at the conference this year. If anyone wishes to send a personal note to his daughter, I will be happy to provide the address.
- We have \$660.22 in the Paypal account that will eventually be transferred to Checking.

- <u>Regarding Membership</u>: For the 2012 calendar year, SECOLAS paid Blackwell \$6,244.00 (a minimum fee based on a membership base of 200). This was more than we took in for membership dues. We need to continue to make growing our membership and enforcing payment of SECOLAS dues in conjunction with the conference a priority. We are off to a better start in 2013. We currently have at least 114 paid memberships, which is up from pre-conference membership counts in the last two years. This is especially encouraging since it's an international conference year and the conference date is slightly earlier in the calendar.
- <u>Regarding the Conference</u>: Final numbers will not be available until the conference has ended. However, current numbers indicate that SECOLAS, as host, will break even or see a very marginal profit.
- <u>Regarding the Secretary-Treasurer Position</u>: We did not receive a bid for the Secretariat. Finding a replacement should be a high priority for the new Executive Committee.
 - Report on The Latin Americanist Greg Weeks, Editor
 - Report on the Annals edition of TLA Jürgen Buchenau, Editor
 - Report on the Website Stephen Morris
- Announcements
- Old Business
 - Western States Region in 2014
 - Eastern States Region in 2015
 - International in 2016
- New Business
 - Program Chairs for next year
- (Humanities/Literature) and (History/Social Sciences).
 - Bids for the Editorship and Secretariat

• Only one bid was submitted for the TLA Editorship and the Secretariat. In accordance with SECOLAS bylaws, the bid is for a five-year period and comes with documented evidence of matched funds this bid comes from UNC Charlotte and proposes a continuation of the current editorial board which consists of Greg Weeks, Editor of TLA and Jurgen Buchenau and Greg Crider, Co-Editors of the SECOLAS Annals.

• Elections

• President Elect

• Frank Robinson will be the next President. Angela Rajagopalan agreed to become President-Elect.

• At Large members

• Current members will be Sarah Wamester Bares (2014), Jimmy Huck (2015), Blake Pattridge (2016).

Award Committees

- Alfred B. Thomas Book Award (3 year staggered appointments)
- Current committee consists of: Stephen Morris (2013), Frank Robinson (2014), and Ann Gonzalez (2015). The replacement for Stephen Morris is Steven Taylor (2016).

• Sturgis Leavitt Award – (3 year staggered appointments)

- Current committee consists of: Tim Hawkins (2013), Natalia Milanesio (2014) and Rebecca Atencio (2015).
- This year's winner will be appointed to the committee. [Retroactive note: Matt Childs (2016) was awarded the Sturgis Leavitt Award and will replace Tim Hawkins.]

• Edward Moseley Award – (3 year staggered appointments)

- The current committee is: Liz Moran (2013), James Wood (2014), and Jimmy Huck (2015). The replacement for Liz Moran is Sarah Bares (2016).
- Meeting Adjourned.