FRIDAY, March 28, 2014, 4:30-6:00 PM Orleans A, Hyatt French Quarter New Orleans, LA

BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES

In Attendance: 26 SECOLAS members were present.

Welcome and thank you to Jimmy Huck for serving as conference organizer!

- Reports
 - Financial Report Angela Rajagopalan, Secretary-Treasurer
- Angela Rajagopalan reports that the organization is financially healthy, with \$52,188.08 in the treasury as of March 27, 2014.
- Our Oppenheimer account is very conservative, so we had no losses and a modest gain of \$3.10, ending at \$27,029.03.
- In our Savings account, we currently hold \$0.25. There were no withdraws in 2013. In 2014, I made a final transfer of \$1,215.03 from Savings to reimburse Checking for the final payment to Greg Grider for travel reimbursement (this was the last of the money from Wingate University that was set aside for Greg Crider's travel). This money is not counted in the total SECOLAS funds amounts. I will soon move the bulk of our Checking account balance to the Savings account to draw interest.
- The current total in our Checking account is \$25,779.64. Aside from conference-related transactions, the categories of deposits and expenditures were fairly typical. A notable exception was the bequest of \$5,000 that we received in 2013 from the estate of the late William Lane Harris.
- We have \$107.57 in the Paypal account that will eventually be transferred to Checking.
- Regarding Membership: For the 2013 calendar year, SECOLAS paid Blackwell \$6,244.00 (a minimum fee based on a membership base of 200). This was more than we took in for membership dues. We need to continue to make growing our membership and enforcing payment of SECOLAS dues in conjunction with the conference a priority. We are moving in a positive direction. We currently have at least 163 paid memberships, which is up from pre-conference membership counts in the last two years.
- <u>Regarding the Secretary-Treasurer Position</u>: Steven Hyland at Wingate
 University has accepted the position of Secretary-Treasurer. He will take over
 the Secretariat on July 1, 2014. His term will run from 2014-2019.

• Report on *The Latin Americanist* – Greg Weeks, Editor

- Greg Weeks reported that TLA is going well. The large audience that our partnership with Blackwell generates has been great for the journal. There have been more submissions, more downloads, and greater quality in the submissions. We currently have a 20% acceptance rate.
 - Report on the Annals edition of TLA Greg Crider, Editor
- Greg Crider reported that the Annals is getting lots of attention and congratulated Jim Henderson on having the most downloads in 2012. He reminded the committee that the deadline for this year's submissions is July 1.
- Announcements

Old Business

Discussion took place regarding the upcoming conference sites. The Executive Committee found consensus with the sites listed below. The committee determined that SECOLAS would again host the conference in an attempt to keep costs down for members and so that any surplus could help to makeup our current losses with the Blackwell commitment. Jurgen Buchenau and Greg Weeks volunteered to organize the upcoming conference in Charleston, SC.

- Eastern States Region in 2015
- Charleston
 - International in 2016
- There was discussion of both Merida, MEXICO and Columbia. Alejandro Velez expressed interest in putting together a proposal for Columbia. There was a motion to revisit discussion of the international location next year.
 - Western States in 2017
- Atlanta

• New Business

- There was discussion about how to increase membership. The idea of creating Institutional Memberships was raised.
- There was discussion about advertising the conference more. It was suggested that we pre-market it to graduate advisors (at Chapel Hill, Durham, etc.)
- Sarah Wamester Bares volunteered to set up a Facebook page for the organization.
- There was discussion of how to build more participation in the Literature and Humanities fields.
- There was a discussion of providing Program Chairs with a "job description" so that they don't have to reinvent the wheel when they take on that role. Sarah Wamester Bares volunteered to write a guide for the Program Chairs.
- There was a discussion of increasing the membership and participation of graduate students. The Executive Committee determined that it would be helpful to create two positions on the Executive Committee for graduate students, one for Literature/Humanities and one for History/Social Sciences. The graduate students would be responsible for promoting graduate student participation in the conference. A motion was made at the Business Meeting to to create two seats on the Executive Committee for graduate students (each with a two-year term). This would require a change to the bylaws. Audrey Henderson at UNCC was suggested as a History representative.
- There was a related discussion of having a faculty person promote graduate student participation. Richmond Brown was suggested.
- It was suggested that we remind members that anyone is welcome to attend the Executive Committee and Business Meetings.
- The Committee determined that Joseph Arbena would be honored at the Banquet Reception.
- The Committee determined to have a named keynote speaker position next year: "The William L. Harris Keynote Speaker"
- Program Chairs for next year will be:
- (Humanities/Literature) Paul Worley
- (History/Social Sciences). Michael Pisani

Elections

• Secreatary-Treasurer

• The Executive Committee nominated and SECOLAS unanimously elected Steven Hyland

President Elect

 The Executive Committee nominated and SECOLAS unanimously elected Angie Willis

• At Large members

Current members are Sarah Wamester Bares (2014); Jimmy Huck (2015); Angie Willis (2016). The Executive Committee nominated and SECOLAS unanimously elected a replacement for Angie Willis: Blake Pattridge (2016). The Executive Committee nominated and SECOLAS unanimously elected a new At-Large member: Rebecca Atencio (2017)

Award Committees

- Alfred B. Thomas Book Award (3 year staggered appointments)
- Current committee consists of: Frank Robinson (2014); Ann Gonzalez (2015); Steven Taylor (2016). The replacement for Frank Robinson will be: Tim Hawkins (2017)
 - Sturgis Leavitt Award (3 year staggered appointments)
- Current committee consists of: Natalia Milanesio (2014); Rebecca Atencio (2015); Matt Childs (2016)
- This year's winner will be appointed to the committee. [Retroactive note: María del Carmen Collado was awarded the Sturgis Leavitt Award and will replace Natalia Milanesio]
 - Edward Moseley Award (3 year staggered appointments)
- The current committee is: James Wood (2014); Jimmy Huck (2015); Sarah Bares (2016). The replacement for James Wood will be: Oscar de la Torre (2017)
- Meeting Adjourned at 7:30 PM.