Awards season is here! // ¡La temporada de premios está llegada ya!

Published by Steven on

SECOLAS members: Consider submitting your 2015 publications to one of our prize competitions.


Call for SECOLAS Awards Submissions

SECOLAS awards three prizes each year: the A.B. Thomas Award, the Sturgis Leavitt Award, and the Edward H. Moseley Award. The presentation of the awards is made at the annual meeting, and the names of the winners and their works are printed in The Latin Americanist. The next conference will be held in Cartagena de Indias, Colombia, March 9-13, 2016. The theme for this conference is “Legacies of Transcultural Encounters in the Americas.”

The Alfred B. Thomas Book Award. (DEADLINE: have your publisher post the book by Friday, January 15, 2016 to the award committee.)

The Alfred B. Thomas Award is awarded annually for the best book on a Latin American subject published by a SECOLAS member in the previous year. Co‐authored works may be considered, but not anthologies or edited works. Books may be in any language. Authors must have been members of SECOLAS for the two calendar years (e.g. 2014, 2015) preceding the year in which the prize will be awarded. The Executive Committee assigns a group of three members – at least one of whom is not an historian – to select the winning book. Thomas Award committee members serve for three years on a rotating basis.

To apply for this award please send a copy of your book to all three committee members:

Steven Taylor (Chair, 2016)
Department of Political Science
Troy University
334 MSCX
Troy, AL 36082
[email protected]

Tim Hawkins (2017)
Stalker Hall 322
Department of History
Indiana State University
621 Chestnut Street
Terre Haute, IN 47809

Rebecca Atencio (2018)
302 Newcomb Hall
Spanish & Portuguese Department
Tulane University
New Orleans, LA 70118

The Sturgis Leavitt Award for Best Article. (DEADLINE: Sunday, January 31, 2016)

The Sturgis Leavitt Award is given annually for the best article or book chapter on a Latin American or Iberian subject published by a SECOLAS member in the previous calendar year. The article may be written in any language. Preference will be given to articles that have an appeal beyond a single discipline.  A committee of three appointed by the Executive Committee selects the winning article or book chapter written by a SECOLAS member. Committee members serve for three years on a rotating basis.

To apply for this award please send a PDF version of your published document by email to all three committee members:

Matt Childs (Chair, 2016)
Department of History
University of South Carolina
[email protected]

Maria del Carmen Collado (2017)
Instituto Mora
Mexico City
[email protected]

Benjamin Cowan (2018)
Department of History
George Mason University
[email protected]

The Edward H. Moseley Award. (DEADLINE: Wednesday, February 24, 2016)

The Edward H. Moseley Award is presented annually to the graduate student and SECOLAS member who has presented the best graduate student paper at the current year’s meeting.

To apply for this award please email a PDF or MS Word document of your paper to all three committee members:

Sarah Bares (Chair, 2016)
[email protected]

Oscar de la Torre Cueva (2017)
Assistant Professor
Department of Africana Studies
University of North Carolina at Charlotte
[email protected]

Michael Pisani (2018)
Department of Management
Central Michigan University
[email protected]

Categories: Updates


Associate Professor of History at Wingate University. Texas and Ohio State graduate. Massive Longhorns fan. And I like a nice margarita too.