Call for Submissions – The Sturgis Leavitt Award for Best Article

Published by SECOLAS on

The Sturgis Leavitt Award is given annually for the best article or book chapter on a Latin American or Iberian subject published by a SECOLAS member in the previous calendar year. The article may be written in any language. Preference will be given to articles that have an appeal beyond a single discipline. The winner must be a member in good standing of the year in which the article or chapter was published and the year the award is given.

Selection of the winning article or book chapter is made by a committee of three members selected by the Executive Committee. Members serve for three years on a rotating basis.

The 2021 competition is for articles and book chapters published in 2020.

Email a copy of your article or book chapter to the award committee by Friday, January 29, 2021.

Paul Worley (2021, Chair)
Department of English
Western Carolina University
[email protected]

Lily Balloffet (2022)
Department of Latin American and Latino Studies
University of California, Santa Cruz
[email protected]

Fernanda Bretones Lane (2023)
Department of History
University of Florida
[email protected]

Categories: AwardsUpdates


The Southeastern Council of Latin American Studies (SECOLAS) is a non-political and non-profit association of individuals interested in Latin America established in 1953. Its objectives are the promotion of interest in Latin America, scholarly research pertaining to Latin America in all fields, and the increase of friendly contacts among the peoples of the Americas. SECOLAS is a 501(c)3 organization.