Call for Submissions – The 2023 Sturgis Leavitt Award for Best Article

Published by SECOLAS on

The Sturgis Leavitt Award is given annually for the best article or book chapter on a Latin American or Iberian subject published by a SECOLAS member in the previous calendar year. The article may be written in any language. Preference will be given to articles that appeal beyond a single discipline. The winner must be a member in good standing of the year in which the article or chapter was published, and the year the award is given.

The winning article or book chapter is selected by a committee of three members who previously won the award. Members serve for three years on a rotating basis.

The 2023 competition is for articles and book chapters published in 2022.

Email a copy of your article or book chapter to the award committee by Friday, December 2, 2022.

Dr. Fernanda Bretones Lane (2023, Chair)
Department of History
University of Florida
[email protected]

Dr. Robert Franco (2024)
Department of History
Kenyon College
[email protected]

Dr. Sarah Foss (2025)
Department of History
Oklahoma State University
[email protected]

Categories: Awards


The Southeastern Council of Latin American Studies (SECOLAS) is a non-political and non-profit association of individuals interested in Latin America established in 1953. Its objectives are the promotion of interest in Latin America, scholarly research pertaining to Latin America in all fields, and the increase of friendly contacts among the peoples of the Americas. SECOLAS is a 501(c)3 organization.